Ababu Namwamba fires Azziad, Talanta Hela committee members ahead of launch


• Ababu Namwamba revoked the appointment of public figures appointed to the Talanta Hela committee

• The Cabinet Secretary for Youth Affairs, Sports and the Arts did not disclose the reason behind the cancellation

• The disbandment came barely hours to the official launch of Talanta Hela Initiative at State House

Cabinet Secretary for Youth Affairs, Sports and the Arts Ababu Namwamba has cancelled the appointments of various celebrities appointed to various sports and creative committees under the Talanta Hela Initiative.

The controversial appointments were revoked by the CS through a new gazette notice sighted by YEIYO.com.

This publication understands the appointments were revoked on Wednesday, June 7, ahead of its official launch which went down at State House on Friday, June 9.

CS Ababu Namwamba did not disclosed the reason behind the disbandment. Photo: UGC.

The reason behind the revocation is yet to be made clear, even as Kenyans dig for the root cause.

CS Ababu had not made clarification as at the time of filing this report.

The cancelation of the Talanta Hela committee members appointments came barely hours after Ababu Namwamba made headlines for all wrong reasons.

As earlier reported by YEIYO.com, Kenyans dragged the CS online with many demanding answers on why and how he was spotted with shoes similar to a pair spotted with Azziad Nasenya.

Ababu Namwamba was cricicised for appointing Azziad to Talanta Hela. Photo: Omwemba/Twitter.

A section of Kenyans on social media claimed Ababu and Azziad were an item hence her appointment to the Talanta Hela board.

According to gazette notice no. 1649, sports journalist Carol Radull and comedian Daniel Ndambuki were to chair the Sports Technical Committee and the Creative Technical Committee, respectively.

Members who had been appointed Members of the Creative Technical committee included; Akinyi Odongo, Jimmi Gathu, Catherine Kamau, Kizito Makhande, Azziad Nasenya, Rosemary Wahu Kagwi, Awadhi Salim Awadhi, Douglas Kipkirui, and Langat Susan Ekasiba.

Azziad Nasenya and Ababu Namwamba. Photo: Azziad Nasenya/Instagram.

PS Dennis Itumbi, Kizito Wangalwa, David Langat, Debra Mallowah, Abraham Kipyego Mutai Charles Gacheru, Claudia Naisabwa Leshomoo, Nobert Ouma, and June Chepkemei had been appointed as members in another newly formed Talanta Hela Council, which the CS would chair.

The Sports Technical Committee included brains and legends such as Boniface Ambani, Julius Kiplagat Yego, Neddy Kutsuru, Alfred Makotsi, Sammy Tiyoi Shollei, Collins Kale, Kevin Mutai, Shilovelo Winna Shilavula, Daniel Nakeor Losiru, and Staicy Shariffa Ochieng.

The committees were to run for three months.

Unfortunately, their terms ended prematurely even before they started dispensing their duties.

Leave a Reply